Differences between the
RLDS and LDS Doctrine and Covenants

by Jon Tandy

Both the LDS (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) and RLDS (Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) churches have a common history in the experience of Joseph Smith and the organization of the church on April 6, 1830. Both churches hold the Bible, Book of Mormon, and the Doctrine and Covenants to be authoritative scripture. Beyond these and a few other fundamentals, the two churches are widely divergent in beliefs.

This page is devoted to a brief description of some of these differences as they relate to the versions of Doctrine and Covenants accepted as authoritative scripture by both churches. For discussion on other issues, see Differences that Persist.

The following notations are used in these documents:

RDC = RLDS Doctrine and Covenants
RLDS = Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
LDC = LDS Doctrine and Covenants
LDS = Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
BC = Book of Commandments (1833)
KDC = Kirtland Doctrine and Covenants (1835)
RCH = RLDS Church History
TS = Times and Seasons

LDS Changed Teachings on Marriage

LDS Changed Teachings on Godhood

Teachings on Baptism for the Dead

One Little Comma--Important Change to the Word of Wisdom

Additional Revelations and Documents

Miscellaneous Textual Differences