History of the Reorganized Church
of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints

Return to Centerplace.org
About Church History Site
Helpful Hints


RLDS Church History
Times and Seasons
Messenger and Advocate
Evening and Morning Star
Other History Resources


Bible, Inspired Version
Book of Mormon
Doctrine and Covenants
Lectures on Faith

About Church History

The RLDS Church History is published in several volumes (currently 8). Centerplace.org includes only the first four volumes, which covers the history from 1805 to 1890.

The first four volumes of Church History was compiled principally by Heman C. Smith. Heman C. Smith was the son of Spencer and Anna C. Wight Smith, and grandson of Lyman Wight. In 1887 he was called to be an Apostle of the RLDS Church. Several years later he was appointed by President Joseph Smith III to write the history of the church. The copyright on each of the first four volumes is 1896.  

Copyright and Purchasing

The first four volumes of Church History are copyright 1896, and are in the public domain.

To obtain the printed volumes of the RLDS Church History, contact: